Chez Luce

Kitchen adventures on Wandsworth Common

Baking day November 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — chezluce @ 11:58 am
Tags: , , , ,

Recipe: Banana cinnamon buns

Yeasted deliciousness


So on Thursday, I was at home all day studying for my (yawn) pensions exams, so I thought I would take the time to bake something I hadn’t tried before. There was also a bunch of bananas getting a little bit past their best, and after a quick search on ‘banana’ I found a recipe for banana cinnamon buns. Perfect. Lots of proving time to do more exam questions (urghhhh).

Banana cinnamon buns 2

After reading the blurb on my packet of yeast, I realised in fact that it wasn’t the easy-blend type, and had to be reactivated first. Which begs the question, howcome things I have made before without reactivating the yeast came out well?! But anyway, I added the yeast to the milk and sugar and left it in the airing cupboard for 15 minutes to do its stuff.

The dough was simple to make, and as always, satisfying to knead by hand. Enriched with egg it made for a really moist delicious bun. After the dough had doubled in size, I knocked it back, spread the rolled out dough with butter and rolled it up with a mixture of bananas, cinnamon, brown sugar and sultanas (the recipe called for dried apricots, but I didn’t have any). Cut into 9, and nestled in a brownie pan, they were ready for a second prove.

Banana cinnamon buns 1

Ready for second rising

The buns were glazed with a mixture of honey and butter, and baked for about 20 minutes. I think I could have given mine a bit longer, as the middle ones were still a bit yeast-y tasting. The ones touching the outside of the tin came out lovely though.

Baked to near perfection

The finished article

I had quite a lot more glaze left so I brushed them all again once out of the oven. After failing to concentrate on my studying while the buns cooled (they smelled so good!) I felt I deserved a treat after all my hard work. These are absolutely delicious warm from the oven, but I think they are best eaten sooner rather than later as they did start to deteriorate after about a day.

The recipe stated that it served 18, but instructed me to cut the dough into nine. This makes me think that a serving size is half a bun, which makes sense as they come out HUGE! Like, too much for a one-person snack. If I make these again, I think next time I will roll the dough out longer and make a 4×4 grid of deliciousness.

Banana cinnamon buns 3

GIANT BUN

Banana cinnamon buns

Adapted from www.bbcgoodfood.com

450g strong white flour
1 tsp salt
1 tbsp caster sugar
7g yeast
150ml warm milk
1 egg , beaten
1 tbsp olive oil
100-150ml warm water
50g unsalted butter , melted
3 medium bananas
big handful of sultanas
2 tsp cinnamon
100g light muscovado sugar
4 tbsp runny honey

Whisk the warm milk, sugar and yeast together in a bowl and leave to froth for 15 minutes in a warm place. When reactivated, beat in an egg and the olive oil and pour into a bowl with the flour and salt, and enough water to form a soft, wet dough. Knead dough for 10 mins until smooth. Put the dough in a lightly oiled bowl, cover with oiled cling film, then leave to rise in a warm place until doubled in size. Lightly butter a 20cm square baking tin. On a floured surface, roll the dough into a rectangle approximately 30cm x 25cm and brush with melted butter. Thinly slice bananas into a bowl and mix in sultanas, sugar, and cinnamon. Spoon the mix over the dough, leaving a finger-width border. Roll the dough towards you from the long side of the rectangle, tucking in any banana that falls out. Press ends together to seal. With a sharp knife, cut into 9 pieces and place, cut side up, in the tin, just touching each other. Cover loosely with oiled cling film and set aside in a warm place to rise for 30 mins. Heat oven to 200C/fan180C/gas 6. Warm the honey in a pan, then brush half over the buns. Bake for 20-25 mins until golden. Allow to cool in the tin for 10 mins before removing to a cooling rack. Brush with the remaining honey then pull apart to serve.

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.