Chez Luce

Kitchen adventures on Wandsworth Common

Birthday treats part 1 November 9, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — chezluce @ 11:04 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Recipe: Fruit and nut flapjacks Fruit and nut flapjacks 2

Having earned my title as ‘the office Nigella’ over the last year and a half, I thought i’d better live up to my name and bring in something home-baked for my birthday rather than just going to M&S like everyone else.

The first thing I decided to make was flapjacks. After a root around in the cupboard I found some blanched almonds, hazelnuts, dried cranberries and sultanas to add to the basic flapjack mix.

I toasted the nuts in the oven to bring out the flavour . Well, they were on the well-done side of toasted, because I shoved them in the oven and promptly forgot they were in there. It was only when I went to put something else in that i discovered them just about to burn! Anyway, I melted the butter with the golden syrup and poured the mixture into a bowl with the oats, sugar, fruit and nuts. After a quick mix they were ready to bake.

When the pan came out the oven I was convinced I hadn’t added enough of the wet mixture to bind the oats as it seemed far too crumbly, but after cooling it had gained a bit more integrity and could be sliced up into sticky, delicious squares.

All in all, I had great reviews from my work colleagues and would purposefully use this mixture of fruit and nuts next time.

Oh yeah… and because I had to provide snacks for the whole office floor, I had to go to M&S anyway.

Fruit and nut flapjacks 1

Fruit and nut flapjacks 3

Fruit and nut flapjacks

All the fruit and nuts were from those 100g packets, all with a little bit gone so I am guessing I used about 75g of each. It wouldnt matter if you used a bit more or a bit less though.

75g dried cranberries

75g sultanas

75g toasted blanched almonds

75g toasted blanched hazelnuts

170g butter

60g golden surup

l115g ight muscovado sugar

225g rolled oats

Heat the oven to 170. Grease and line the base of a tin with baking parchment. Melt the syrup and butter together in a pan. Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl and add the melted buttery goo. Press into the tin and bake for about 30 minutes. Let cool thoroughly in the tin, then turn out and cut into 20 squares.

 

Leave a Reply

