Chez Luce

Kitchen adventures on Wandsworth Common

Lazy breakfast November 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — chezluce @ 11:53 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Recipe: Smoked Haddock Kedgeree

kedgeree3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thing I love about having a week off work, aside from the obvious, is the chance to make proper breakfasts. Well, rather, brunches by the time I have woken up.

One of my favourite things to have at any time of the day is a kedgeree made with smoked haddock and soft boiled eggs. I first tried kedgeree on a beautiful early morning at Glastonbury Festival, made with hot smoked slamon from the Goan Seafood Company. I was a total convert to fish breakfasts from the first bite.

Kedgeree1

Pls ignore dirty hob!

 

When I saw some smoked haddock on special offer, I knew it would be destined to make friends with rice, eggs, spices, lemon and parsley. This is pretty much a storecupboard dish apart from the fish, so is cheap as well as delicious (luckily…).

 

After poaching the haddock in water with bay leaves and peppercorns, I practised using my asbestos hands to flake the fish. If you are a normal human, wait till it cools down. Reserve the poaching liquid to cook the rice. I boiled some eggs and heated some butter in a pan. Added to the hot butter was a finely chopped onion, a cinnamon stick, 4 bruised cardamom pods and 1/2 tsp turmeric. I cooked this out for a while and added 3/4 cup of basmati rice. After coating in the spiced butter, I added poaching liquid to cover the surface of the rice by an inch.

 

I slammed the lid on and simmered until the water had all but evaporated, then stirred in the flaked haddock, halved eggs, a handful of chopped parsley and some black pepper. I slopped the kedgeree into big bowls and served with lemon wedges.

 

Kedgeree2

 


Smoked haddock kedgeree

adapted from www.bbcgoodfood.com

50g butter
1 medium onion, finely chopped
4 cardamom pods, bruised
1/2 tsp turmeric
1 small cinnamon stick
2 dried bay leaves
3/4 cup basmati rice
2 medium un-dyed smoked haddock fillets
3 eggs
handful chopped fresh parsley
1 lemon, cut into wedges, to garnish

method as above.

 

4 Responses to “Lazy breakfast”

  1. ebenette Says:

    I have cod fillets for tonight. Shame they weren’t smoked otherwise I would definately try this recipe! It does sounds very tasty.

  2. ebenette Says:

    I tried this one last night. It was easy to cook and really delicious. The colour from turmeric was really cheerful – I thought of taking photos, but I was too hungry and eager to taste it!

  3. Jesse Serrin Says:

    Hello! Fantastic web site, I really like your writing style. Very distinctive and concise. On a lot of blogs people just drone on and on, but not you – very nice. I found your site while looking for another one on Google. I don’t have time to read all the recipes right now, but I have bookmarked the home page and will come back very soon to see your latest updates. I love reading about cooking, it is my favorite past-time. The recipes on your site are incredible. I can’t wait to try them out on my family. They think I’m nuts (and maybe they are right lol) when they see me at work in the kitchen. Click here if you’d like to check out my site. Thank you again for a very educational site. Keep up the great work!


Leave a Reply

