Chez Luce

Kitchen adventures on Wandsworth Common

Dinner party part 2… December 9, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — chezluce @ 8:05 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

…Main course!

Roasted herb rack of lamb with roasted radicchio and flageolet gratin

 

This is the second course taken from (an admittedly different menu to the starter in) Suzanne Goin’s Sunday Suppers at Lucques: Seasonal Recipes from Market to Table.

 

As the lamb racks in the local supermarket looked decidedly lacklustre, I decided to treat my friends to lamb from The Ginger Pig, an amazing butcher in Borough Market.

 

Gratuitous Meat Shot


 

While I was there, I took advantage of some of the beautiful produce stalls and picked up a couple of heads of radicchio to go with the lamb. My wallet severely sad, I headed home to begin marinating the lamb in rosemary, thyme and garlic. I gave it a good 7 hours at room temperature, and let me tell you – you could really taste the herbs!

 

height="1024"

 

While the lamb was soaking up the flavour, I got on with preparing the gratin and radicchio. As I couldn’t find dried flageolets, like, anywhere in London, I used canned and simmered for 1.5 hours less than instructed to with dried beans. After cooking the beans with diced fennel, onion, chilli and olive oil for a few minutes I put in some of the murky looking starchy bean-water from the can. This helped to thicken the gratin. I spread a thick layer of sweet caremelised onions on the base of a big dish, and poured the bean mixture over. Before baking for 1.5 hours, I sprinkled over breadcrumbs mixed with herbs and browned butter. The gratin was seriously one of the best vegetable side dished I heve ever made – everyone asked for seconds! (Which means I couldnt have any cold the next day, what a shame, I will have to make it again soon!)

 

 

 

I placed the radicchio, cut into wedges, in a dish, and scattered over some oil, balsamic vinegar and herbs. I set this aside for a good few hours and baked for about 40 minutes before serving.

 

The lamb was seared in a very hot pan, and roasted for half an hour. After resting for 15 minutes, I cut the lamb into cutlets and served two per person (with a few left over for seconds). The recipe called for tapenade, which I bought in rather than made fresh, but it was so delicious with the lamb.

 

 

 

 

Unfortunately I don’t think I can reprint the recipe verbatim but if anyone wants to borrow the book I will (begrudgingly) part from it for a while!

 

One Response to “Dinner party part 2…”

  1. ebenette Says:

    Tapenade with lamb … I never thought of that. It sounds very continental. The meat looks great uncooked, and of course cooked. Your friends are, again, extremely lucky. Not surprising to see their happy face in your previous post!


Leave a Reply

