Chez Luce

Kitchen adventures on Wandsworth Common

Winter Colours December 30, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — chezluce @ 5:42 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Preparing, making, out and about

 

Firstly I would like to apologise for my distinct lack of posts throughout December. My life seemed to catch up with me a bit, and I’m not sure where all the time was going but I didn’t have hardly any to spare. I just about managed to squeeze in a gingerbread house for my first Daring Bakers challenge and I am so looking forward to seeing what is asked of me next month!

 

Rather than a recipe, this time I would like to share with you some images from the last few weeks of Christmas preparation and cookery.

By the way, my wonderful and talented sous chef/photographer Dan can take credit for this post! (Say hello Dan…)

 

 


We recently visited Londn's busy and colourful Spitalfields Market, full of fashion and craft designers selling their products. In amongst the hustle and bustle of the Christmas shoppers there was a florist stall, a picture of stillness and tranquility.

Florist in Spitalfields Market

 

wintery salad leaves

 

delicious roasted beets - for Boxing day lunch

 

Tropical fruit - never in season in the UK - so we have it at Christmas!

 

the smell of oranges and Clementines means Christmas to me

 

We now have some beetroot and orange chutney maturing...

 

seriously. make this.

 

This last photo is of Rose Levy Berenbaum’s Chocolate Banana Stud Cake from her AMAZING book Rose’s Heavenly Cakes. Please please get this book, if you like baking then its like a bible! The recipes are so precise and as a Scientist I find this to be so helpful. If I get permission to reprint this recipe I promise I will, it’s the first one I have tried from this book and the tender chocolate sponge with a hint of banana was the best cake I have ever made.

 

One Response to “Winter Colours”

  1. ebenette Says:

    Beautiful photography. All looking great, but I especially love the 3rd one with salad leaves and the 6th one with orange halves. The colours are so charming!


Leave a Reply

