Chez Luce

Kitchen adventures on Wandsworth Common

Practice Makes Perfect August 29, 2010

Having offered to make a wedding cake for my friends Ruby and Lee (congratulations on the engagement!), I am in full-on research and planning mode. This means making practice cakes. Lots of practice cakes.

 

So here is my first attempt, a lemon syrup-soaked sponge, with lemon curd buttercream, fondant icing, and tiny jasmine flowers, which I made for my parents’ silver wedding anniversary. The design is from Mich Turner’s ‘Couture Wedding Cakes’ and I think it turned out beautifully. I had to go against all my clumsy impulses to make the smooth white fondant as flawless as possible, and the painstaking piping and sticking of the sugar flowers was certainly a challenge, but overall I was really pleased with my first proper cake!

 

The plan for the wedding is to make three tiers, potentially blocked with fresh flowers, so I had a small arrangement of white, green and silver made for this cake to see how it would look.

 

I wish I had taken a picture of the cake after it had been cut, the pale buttercream and lemon cake looked really lovely together, and you will just have to take my word that had a really delicious lemony flavour!

 

I wonder what I am going to try for my next practice… Anyone need a single tier iced cake??

 

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Practice Makes Perfect”

  1. Bel moody Says:

    Hi the website is great and so was the cake !!! All the pics are so good 🙂
    Bel xxx

  2. saqlly webster Says:

    Thanks Luce for making such a beautiful cake for our anniversary, it was delicious, love Mum xxx


Leave a Reply

